FanPost

49 More Days! Roster Review

So I've tried to keep decently detailed updated notes on our roster: Key: # sign means player has redshirted. just the # sign means he's a true freshman & I put them in italics + players who won't play (injury/transfer). Bold means the guy is the starter. Star* rating is average of ESPN, Rivals, Scout & 247. Orangeandwhite.com just got done ranking our 20 Most Valuable Players so I noted that.


5 QUARTERBACKS - Chad Morris, 2nd year, $1.3 million salary through 2017 - Offensive Coordinator

# Player Pos Stars G-S-Snaps Year Class Exp From Hgt Wgt
10 Tajh Boyd QB 4.5* 14-14-997 JR# 2009 2VL VA 6'1 225











8 Cole Stoudt QB 3.0* 6-0-71 SO 2011 1VL OH 6'4 200
15 Morgan Roberts QB 2.3* - FR# 2011 RS NC 6'2 200

Chad Kelly QB 3.8* - # 2012 - NY 6'3 208
12 Tony McNeal QB 3.0* - FR# 2011 RS SC 6'0 195

Boyd is returning starter, threw 300 times for 3800 yards, 33 TDs & 12 INTs last year. #1 player on the team by orangeandwhite. Stoudt is the backup, Roberts pushed him this spring. Kelly should redshirt. McNeal will miss the season with an ACL injury from the spring game.

6 RUNNING BACKS - Tony Elliot, 2nd year (Clemson '02 grad)

23 Andre Ellington RB 4.0* 13-13-754 SR# 2008 3VL SC 5'10 190











22 D.J. Howard RB 3.0* 12-2-149 SO# 2010 1VL AL 5'11 195
25 Roderick McDowell RB 3.5* 13-0-44 JR# 2009 2VL SC 5'9 190

Zac Brooks RB 4.0* - # 2012 - AR 6'2 180











84 Darrell Smith FB 2.5* 14-0-1 JR# 2009 2VL AL 6'2 245
48 Colton Walls FB 2.3* - FR# 2011 RS NC 6'2 220

Depth is an issue with Bellamy kicked off the team for not going to class. Ellington returns for his 5th year & we need him to stay healthy. Was #3 on O&W.com. He had 220 carries, 1200 yards & 11 TDs last year. Howard's the backup. McDowell barely played last season so true freshman Brooks may not be able to avoid the redshirt.

Smith moves to FB form TE & only played 1 snap last season. Walls converted from LB last year.

7 WIDE RECEIVERS - Jeff Scott, Recruiting Coordinator (Clemson '03 grad)

2 Sammy Watkins SLOT 4.8* 13-10-656 SO 2011 1VL FL 6'1 200
16 Adam Humphries SLOT 2.3* 14-2-258 SO 2011 1VL SC 6'0 190

Germone Hopper SLOT 4.0* - # 2012 RS NC 6'0 165











6 DeAndre Hopkins WR 4.0* 14-11-751 JR 2010 2VL SC 6'1 200
1 Martavis Bryant WR 4.0* 14-2-195 SO 2011 1VL SC 6'5 205











18 Jaron Brown WR 3.0* 14-12-618 SR# 2008 3VL SC 6'2 200
19 Charone Peake WR 4.3* 14-0-245 SO 2011 1VL SC 6'3 205

Do we have the best WR group in the country? Sammy (#2 O&W) had 80 catches, 1200 yards & 12 TDs. Hopkins (#4 O&W) 70-1000-5. Brown 30-400-4 (#20 O&W). Our backups Humphries-Bryant-Peake are good too. Hopper is the new guy I don't know if we necessarily need him? But Brown is our only WR that has a RS year so he may avoid it.

5 TIGHT ENDS - Danny Pearman, Assistant Head Coach (Clemson '87 grad)

80 Brandon Ford TE 3.5* 14-1-222 SR# 2008 3VL SC 6'4 235











86 Sam Cooper TE 2.0* 14-0-54 SO# 2010 1VL TN 6'4 240
88 Eric MacLain TE 3.8* - FR# 2011 RS NC 6'4 265
81 Stanton Seckinger TE 2.3* - FR# 2011 RS SC 6'5 200

Jay Jay McCullough TE 3.0* - # 2012 - SC 6'5 232


TE position has been revolutionized by The Chad. I keep reading Ford (#9 O&W) - a converted WR is the prototype player for it. He had 14 catches, 170 yards & 2 TDs last year as Allen's backup. Seckinger wasn't as highly rated as a WR but is 6'5 & is working on gaining 40lbs & becoming a TE. Cooper is the backup. I haven't heard if he can catch or if he's just a blocker. MacLain started HS as an OT - can he catch? Is he next year's starter? New guy McCullough will RS.

6 OFFENSIVE GUARDS - Robbie Caldwell, 2nd year

43 Tyler Shatley RG 3.0* - JR# 2009 2VL NC 6'3 295
77 Reid Webster RG 3.0* 6-0-33 SO# 2010 1VL GA 6'4 295
78 Spencer Region OG 3.3* - FR# 2011 RS AL 6'4 370











67 Kalon Davis LG 3.0* 12-0-49 SO# 2010 1VL SC 6'5 335
68 David Beasley LG 3.3* 5-0-30 SO# 2010 1VL GA 6'4 315

Patrick Destefano OG 3.5* - # 2012 - SC 6'4 275

So our skill players are awesome like in 2008 but we have 'no' offensive line (experience) like when we had Tommy Bowden as the head coach, were highly ranked & were blown on game 1 by Alabama in the Georgia Dome (I was there - took MARTA home at halftime). I hope 2012's line doesn't embarrass us against Auburn in Atlanta.

Shatley (#15 O&W) moved from D-line because of our lack of depth & was forced into a starting spot. I quote The Chad, "Tyler had brought instant credibility with his physical play & his intensity." Good. Webster is his backup. I think Davis & Beasley are listed as co-starters at the LG spot. Region needs to drop weight & he's the 5th guy. Destefano will RS.

6 OFFENSIVE TACKLES - Robbie Caldwell, 2nd year

63 Brandon Thomas LT 4.0* 13-10-777 JR# 2009 2VL SC 6'3 300
76 Shaq Anthony LT 3.0* - FR# 2011 RS SC 6'4 275

Isaiah Battle LT 3.5* - # 2012 - VA 6'7 265











70 Gifford Timothy RT 2.3* - SO# 2010 1VL DE 6'6 315
73 Joe Gore RT 3.3* - FR# 2011 RS NC 6'6 260

Oliver Jones OT 3.0* - # 2012 - SC 6'6 322

Thomas (#10 O&W) is 1 of 2 returning starters on OL. He'll slide back into the position he struggled most with last year because no one else stepped up. He's undersized for a LT. Timothy at least is a tackle but wasn't highly rated out of Delaware. Gore's his backup. Don't know if Battle/Jones can avoid RS as freshman. Battle at least played at Fork Union Military last year so I think he's suiting up. We have no depth & no exp. Good recruiting!

3 CENTERS - Robbie Caldwell, 2nd year

55 Dalton Freeman C 4.0* 14-14-1044 SR# 2008 3VL SC 6'5 285
58 Ryan Norton C 3.0* - FR# 2011 RS SC 6'3 265

Jay Guillermo C 3.3* - # 2012 - TN 6'2 287

Freeman (#6 O&W) is the other returning starter has 36 straight starts. On watch list for Rimington - nation's best C award. Norton's the backup. Guillermo RS.

6 DEFENSIVE ENDS - Marion Hobby

97 Malliciah Goodman DE 4.0* 14-14-767 SR 2009 3VL SC 6'4 280
92 Roderick Byers DE 3.0* - FR# 2011 RS SC 6'3 275
93 Corey Crawford BANDIT 3.8* 14-0-252 SO 2011 1VL GA 6'5 280
3 Vic Beasley BANDIT 3.5* 9-0-16 SO# 2010 1VL GA 6'3 235
Martin Aiken DE 3.5* - # 2012 - SC 6'3 245
Shaq Lawson DE 3.5* - # 2012 - SC 6'3 240

Goodman (#8 O&W) is a returning starter. 59 tackles, 4 for loss, 2 sacks. His backup is Byers. Crawford (#18 O&W) won the Bandit position by default but I hear he's good too. He's replacing sack leaders Andre Branch (2011) & Da'Quan Bowers (2012). His backup Beasley was a TE then a LB & now a DE - great athlete, no position & has to bulk up. Aiken & Lawson probably won't be able to RS since again - we weren't recruiting linemen.

9 DEFENSIVE TACKLES - Dan Brooks

99 DeShawn Williams DT 3.0* 14-1-138 SO 2011 1VL SC 6'1 290
91 Josh Watson DT 3.8* 5-0-21 SO# 2010 1VL DE 6'4 290
6 Tavaris Barnes NOSE 3.5* 9-0-73 SO# 2010 1VL FL 6'4 270
50 Grady Jarrett NOSE 2.8* 9-0-61 SO 2011 1VL GA 6'0 295
95 Tra Thomas DT 2.5* 2-0-8 SO# 2010 1VL NC 6'0 290
96 Jerome Maybank DT 2.5* - FR# 2011 RS SC 6'4 345
Carlos Watkins DT 4.0* - # 2012 - NC 6'4 275
D.J. Reader DT 3.3* - # 2012 - NC 6'3 306
Kevin Dodd DT 3.0* - # 2012 - SC 6'5 277

Williams (#17 O&W) is listed as co-starter at DT. 20 tackles last year on 140 snaps, 2 tackles for loss. He's shown the most to date but that still isn't very much. He's from Central. The other guy listed at co-starter is Watson, he needs to come into own this year. Barnes and Jarrett are also listed as co-starters at Nose Tackle so there's no returning starter or anyone pulling away inside... My last note on Thomas is he has a bad attitude. Maybank is big at 345! Watkins (#14 O&W) is uber talented & should play this year since there's no one of note in front of him on the DC. Hopefully we can afford to RS Reader & Dodd (who comes from a prep school).

11 LINEBACKERS - Brent Venables, 1st year, Defensive Coordinator

12 Stephone Anthony MLB 4.8* 13-3-292 SO 2011 1VL NC 6'3 235
33 Spencer Shuey MLB 3.0* 14-0-48 JR# 2009 2VL NC 6'3 250
46 Jonathan Willard WILL 3.5* 14-11-635 SR# 2008 3VL SC 6'2 220
42 Corico Hawkins WILL 3.0* 14-11-697 SR 2009 3VL GA 5'11 230
8 Justin Parker WILL 3.8* 14-0-33 JR 2010 2VL SC 6'1 225
34 Quandon Christian SAM 3.0* 14-7-411 JR# 2009 2VL SC 6'2 220
20 Lateek Townsend SAM 4.0* 10-0-3 SO 2011 1VL SC 6'2 215
7 Tony Steward LB 4.8* 5-0-36 SO 2011 1VL FL 6'1 245
44 B.J. Goodson LB 2.8* - FR# 2011 RS SC 6'1 235
Kellen Jones LB ? - SO 2011 1VL TX 6'1 215
T.J. Burrell LB 3.0* - # 2012 - SC 5'11 197

Anthony (#5 O&W) won the starting MLB job at the end of last season so he turns there. His backup is Shuey who I read was a big, slow LB or a 'powerful, run-stopping option.' Willard & Hawkins are listed as co-starters at Weakside & are both returning starters. Doesn't look like Parker - their backup - will play this year either. Should we RS him? Christian returns as our Strongside, he's a returning starter but only played 400 snaps because he shares time with the Nickel Back. His backup is Townsend.Our LBs will be much more useful now that Kevin Steele is fired. Will have to earn 'Linebacker U' title but they have the talent to do it.

Other LBs - Steward (#19 O&W) could RS after 2 ACL injuries in 2 years or have a huge season if 100%. No notes on Goodson. Jones transferred from Oklahoma State. He played in 12 games last year as a true freshman for Venables. Burrell will RS. 197 lb LB?

5 CORNERS - Charlie Harbison

17 Bashaud Breeland CB 3.3* 14-7-643 SO# 2010 1VL SC 6'0 185
24 Cortez Davis CB 3.8* - FR# 2011 RS FL 6'3 195
21 Darius Robinson CB 3.8* 11-6-419 JR 2010 2VL GA 5'11 170
14 Martin Jenkins CB 2.8* 14-3-304 JR 2010 2VL GA 5'9 175
Travis Blanks NICKEL 4.0* - FR 2012 - FL 6'1 195

Breeland (#16 O&W), Robinson & Jenkins give us a reliable rotation at the corners. Combined 117 games, 65 starts & 4,500 snaps. Davis was highly ranked & sure is tall. Blanks (#13 O&W) will have a big role as a true freshman. He'll split time on the field with with Christian the SAM LB. Basically a starter.

7 SAFETIES - Charlie Harbison

5 Jonathan Meeks SS 4.0* 14-10-744 SR 2009 3VL SC 6'1 210
31 Rashard Hall S 3.0* 13-12-799 GR# 2008 4VL FL 6'1 210
38 Garry Peters SS 3.5* 11-0-12 SO# 2010 1VL GA 5'11 190
29 Xavier Brewer FS 3.5* 13-13-771 SR# 2008 3VL FL 5'11 190
27 Robert Smith FS 2.5* 14-1-59 SO 2011 1VL SC 5'11 210
Jerrodd Williams S - JR SC 6'0 205
Ronald Geohaghan S 3.5* - # 2012 - SC 6'0 185

Meeks, Hall & Brewer are all returning starters so we have great experience as Defensive Back. Hall already graduated & is listed as co-starter at SS & FS. Peters moved over from CB this Spring & he's behind Hall - so is Smith. Williams is a Central, SC kid & is transferring home from Virginia Tech. He'll miss the year & Geohaghan will RS.

SPECIAL TEAMS - Danny Pearman

39 Chandler Catanzaro K walk 14-14-0 JR# 2009 2VL SC 6'2 200
36 Ammon Lakip K 2.5* - FR# 2011 RS GA 5'10 185
13 Spencer Benton P 2.0* 10-10-0 SR# 2008 3VL SC 6'2 195
Bradley Pinion P 3.0* - # 2012 - NC 6'5 220
52 Phillip Fajgenbaum LS walk 14-14-0 JR# 2009 2VL NC 6'0 220
Michael Sobeski LS walk SO SC 6'2 195

Cat-man (#11 O&W) is back after a good year. He was a walk-on & has a scholarship now. Benton beat out Pinion - barely - to replace Dawson Zimmerman. Read Pinion is a star in the making. 6'5! Lakip was #7 by Rivals so our kicking future should be in good feet. Fajgenbaum & Sobeski are walk-ons that split long snapper duties. Fajgenbaum does it for punts. Sobeski for placekicks. Same as last year. Benton is the holder. Why doesn't a QB do that? We have enough of them.

Sammy, Hopkins & 6'5 Bryant are doing Kick & Punt Returns.

These opinions are not necessarily those of the Proprietors of Shakin' The Southland.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Shakin The Southland

You must be a member of Shakin The Southland to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Shakin The Southland. You should read them.

Join Shakin The Southland

You must be a member of Shakin The Southland to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Shakin The Southland. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker